Honorary Gala Committee

The Islamic Arts Society aims to share the rich heritage of Islamic Arts. In doing so, we have touched innumerable hearts and helped build bridges between communities of different faiths.

Our IAS Arts Gala aims to share awareness about our work and raise funds for our Outreach programs.

The Islamic Arts Society has been collaborating with Universities, colleges, museums, art institutes, and other non-profits to share the rich heritage of Islamic arts. We do programs in libraries and schools and our annual Islamic Arts Festival attracts over 6000 visitors each year. Our programs are attended by people of all faiths and backgrounds. By engaging people through Islamic Art, we hope to promote mutual understanding and build bridges between communities. To date, IAS has done more to promote the positive image of the Muslim community among Houstonians than any other organization.

Now we come together for an exclusive event to celebrate our success with the community that has overwhelmingly supported us through the years. Join us for an amazing night to see and marvel at historical and contemporary Islamic arts, artifacts, and manuscripts brought to you by the Islamic Arts Society.




Honorary Gala Committee Chairs

Hon. Sylvester Turner, Mayor of Houston
Hon. Ambassador Sada Cumber

Honorary Gala Committee Co-Chairs

Islamic Society of Greater Houston
Hon. Dave Martin, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Houston
Geoff Connor Former Secretary of Texas
Hon. Suleman Lalani Texas State Rep., 
Hon. Naushad Kermally CM Sugar Land, 
Nasruddin Rupani Chairman Ibn Sina & Rupani Foundation
Shaukat Dhanani, CEO Dhanani Group
Ayaz Nasser, Zenith Real Estate
Ali Sheikhani, CEO Sheikhani Group

Honorary Gala Committee

Nancy Meyer, Houston Chronicle Publisher

Hon. John Whitmire, Texas State Senator

Hon. Sallie Alcorn, CM Houston

Hon. Letitia Plummer, CM Houston

Hon. Brian Middleton, DA Fort Bend County

Miya Shay & Hon. Gene Wu, Texas State Rep.

Andrew Davis, Dean UH Katherine G. McGovern College of Arts

Aimee Froom, Curator – Arts of the Islamic Worlds, MFAH

Troy Finner, Cheif HPD

Ed Gonzalez, Sheriff Harris County


Emcee for the IAS 2023 Gala: Tom Abrahams, Senior Anchor ABC Channel 13

IAS GALA CHAIR: Zafar “Zaf” Tahir

To Join Hon. Host Committee, Sponsorships and Attendance please contact:

IAS 2023 Gala Chair & Board Member Zafar “Zaf” Tahir @ 713.504.0156 or zafartahir@aol.com


  • Adnan Aslam M.D, NW Houston Heart Center.
  • Ahmad Alyasin, Pres Jordanian Association
  • Ali Rizvi
  • Ali Soudjani, Iranian American Society
  • Andy Icken, City of Houston
  • Asim Hafeiz
  • Ayman Kabire, President ISGH
  • Bibi Khan. President An-Nisa Hope Center
  • Bill Baldwin, President Boulevard Realty
  • Charles Foster, Hon Consul General Thailand
  • Christopher Olson, Director MOTIA Houston
  • Dogan Baysal- Seba Metals
  • Dr. Saleha & Basheer Khumawala
  • Ebru Cimen, President American Turkish Association
  • Emran El-Badawi, Middle Eastern Studies, University of Houston
  • Eve & Bobby Lapin, Lapin & Landa LLP
  • Faisal Momin, President Ismaili Council of SW USA
  • Farhan & Sarah Waheed Sher
  • Farhat & Farrukh Shamsi, Emgage TX
  • Farshid Emami, Rice University
  • Ghazala & Haroon Shaikh, HRSS
  • Helene & Dror Zadok, President Zadok Jewellers Houston
  • John Floyd, National Board Member CAIR
  • Judge Brittanye Morris
  • Judge Rabeea Collier
  • Kamran Sherwani, M.D. President Heart Care Center of NW Houston
  • Lainie & David Mincberg, Houston First Corporation
  • Maliha Iqbal
  • Martin Cominsky, CEO (IMGH) Interfaith Ministries Greater Houston

  • Masaud Baaba, Chairman E-lFarouq Foundation
  • Midhat & Farha Syed, Law Offices of Midhat Syed
  • Mohamed Shalaby, M.D, Chairman MCC, Webster
  • Mohammad Zakir, Dawoodi Bohra Community
  • Muhammad Emaduddin, Chairman Friends of Junagardh
  • Mukarram Baig M.D., President Heart Care Center of NW Houston
  • Murad Ajani, Ismaili Council of Southwestern United States
  • Momina, Mustafa & Farwah Hussain
  • Musa Dakri, Wallis State Bank
  • Nasir Tanauli, Ahmadiyya Muslim Community
  • Naveed Zafar M.D. President APPNA STC
  • Necole Irvin, MOCA City of Houston
  • Omar Khawaja, President Muslim Bar Association
  • Omar Samji, Weil Private Equity
  • Sabeena & Sakhi Muhammad – Moosa Stadium
  • Saima Seyar, Elima Designs
  • Sajal Javid, Alley Theatre
  • Salma & Riaz Siddiqi
  • Shabbir Jamali M.D, Gastroenterology Diagnostic Center
  • Shapnik Khan, Talabi Law Firm
  • Shaukat Maredia, CEO Aga’s Restaurant
  • Shazma & Arshad Matin
  • Siraj Narsi, Board Member PAGH
  • Swati & Rakesh Narayan
  • Ursula Rahman Foundation, Germany
  • Uzma Uqbal M.D.
  • Waqar Khan M.D, Lone Star Heart & Vascular
  • Yousuf and Khatereh Hasan
  • Zainab Khan-Dhanji and Talib Dhanji

Choose any one to Become our Top Donor

IAS Platinum Level Supporter / Table

$ 10,000
  • Platinum Supporter

IAS Gold Level Supporter / Table

$ 5000
  • Gold Supporter

IAS Silver Level Supporter / Table

$ 2500
  • Silver Supporter

IAS Bronze Level Supporter/ Table

$ 1500
  • Bronze Supporter

The above Top Donor Levels come with a Table of 10 guests. For the purchase of individual tickets please click the icon below the image carousel on the top left side of this page.



Or Choose to Donate Any Other Amount

IAS Donor

$ 1000
  • Program Supporter

IAS Donor

$ 500
  • Program Supporter

IAS Donor

$ 300
  • Program Supporter

IAS Donor

$ 200
  • Program Supporter

IAS Donor

$ 100
  • Program Supporter

Or send a check to "Islamic Arts Society", a 501(c)3 non-profit, and write your Level of Support on the check.

Mailing Address: 1125 Cypress Station Drive, Suite G3, Houston TX 77090